Nominate a deserving colleague for a CHEST 2023 Honor Lecture or Annual Award

Do you have a colleague or mentor who should be recognized for their contributions to the fields of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine? Nominate them for an honor lecture or annual award at CHEST 2023. Nominations are due Tuesday, January 31, 2023.

Each lecture and award honors a deserving clinician for their research and work toward improving the way we deliver care.

Honor lectures

Honor and memorial lectures recognize clinicians who have made significant contributions in chest medicine, such as through their dedication to advancing the work or research in a specific disease state, serving as a mentor, or acting as a clinician educator. Recipients will present a lecture at CHEST 2023 and will receive complimentary registration as well as some travel benefits.

Lectures include:

  • the Murray Kornfeld Memorial Founders Award recognizing a CHEST Fellow and leader in pulmonary and critical care medicine, particularly in infection and inflammation, who is developing therapies expected to guide medicine into the future;
  • the Distinguished Scientist Honor Lecture in Cardiopulmonary Physiology recognizing a CHEST Fellow who is a well-respected and published original investigator in pulmonary and critical care physiology;
  • the Richard S. Irwin, MD, Master FCCP Honor Lecture recognizing a clinician or health care provider who has advanced patient-focused care within the chest medicine community; and more.

Explore the meaningful insights shared during CHEST 2022 at the Margaret Pfrommer Endowed Memorial Lecture in Home-Based Mechanical Ventilation on patient advocacy for ventilation equity issues and the Mark J. Rosen, MD, Master FCCP, lecture on pulmonary and critical care disorders in pregnancy.

Annual awards

Annual awards recognize CHEST members through their individual contributions and dedication to the organization, leadership, and commitment to the chest medicine profession. Recipients will be presented with their awards at CHEST 2023 and will receive complimentary registration as well as some travel benefits.

Awards include:

  • the College Medalist Award recognizing meritorious service in furthering progress in the field of diseases of the chest by a CHEST Fellow;
  • the Distinguished Service Award recognizing a CHEST Fellow who has held a leadership position in CHEST and has led significant society achievements and/or has donated time, leadership, and service to CHEST;
  • and the Master FCCP award recognizing a CHEST Fellow who has distinguished themselves by attaining professional preeminence.

Educator Awards

Educator Awards recognize CHEST members who are committed to improving patient outcomes through state-of-the-art education. Awards include the Early Career Clinician Educator award, honoring the achievements of a clinician within 10 years of practice, and the Master Clinician Educator award, honoring the achievements of a clinician with at least 20 years of clinical practice.

Take this opportunity to publicly recognize the contributions of a peer, mentor, or colleague—nominate them for one of the many available CHEST 2023 Honor Lectures or Annual Awards today.

Be a Part of CHEST 2024

Save the date for the next Annual Meeting, October 6-9, 2024, in Boston. And if you were inspired by the world-class educational sessions you attended in Hawaiʻi, learn more about how you can help shape next year’s curriculum. Submit topic ideas from areas you’re passionate about, topics affecting your practice, or new technologies you’d like to learn more about by Thursday, November 30, at 2 pm CT.